Hidden deleted

Hidden deleted

By Bonnie Meekums

 

On Christmas Day

I send a merry Christmas text

To family and friends

Scroll through my phone

And there you are

Your number, name, address

And birthday

Stubbornly hidden

Frozen

Like the voicemails I came home to

The pictures I still hold

Inside my head

The film plays on

Where you are young

Vibrant, inquiring

Growing

Alive

My fingers pause

In that made-up moment

Of green buttons pressed

And news imparted

Troubles shared

And halved

But sensibly

I press delete

And you are gone

Again

 

30.12.11

Leave a Reply

