Past the six-week mark

This has been an eventful week. On Monday, I notched up six weeks post-surgery. On Tuesday, I saw the physio, who told me I was doing very well, but the limitations on my range of movement might be to do with the joint rather than any muscle tightness, so I might have to live with them. He also told me that the research suggests so-called ‘hip precautions’ have no proven effect on whether I might dislocate said hip, so I can basically do what I want, within reason. However, I mentioned my continued pain, which is worse when I’ve done a lot, so he told me to do less. Mind you, he also encouraged me to walk outdoors with only one crutch or none. Then, on Thursday, I saw the consultant’s right-hand chap. When I told him I’d been pushing myself, he said ‘good.’ I suspect he sees many people who are scared to do anything after a total hip replacement, whereas I am determined to get back to full fitness (which was at a higher level than most people of my age) as soon as I can.

The take-home message, which my physio impressed on me, is that I must listen to my body. The trouble is, the more I do, the more I and others will expect me to do. So, yesterday for example I washed up, made two beds up with clean bedclothes for grandchildren, and walked a fair distance along hospital corridors. Today, Friday, I drove for the first time in over six weeks. It’s so good to finally be independent again!!!!

And in six days, my husband and I fly to Rome where I will not only be giving a keynote speech, but running a Dance Movement Therapy workshop. Twice. And then, we will walk our little socks off around Rome.

Painkillers still feature in my night-time routine, and last night I needed more in the middle of the night. Unsurprising, really. But I am getting stronger, daily. I have been using this time to do a daily stretching and strengthening routine not only for my hip but for my spine and my bone density. It’s a combination of yoga, dance exercises, and a bit of Pilates. This kind of dedication takes time, and I’m not sure how long I can keep it up, but it’s satisfying to find that whereas I began with eight reps, I am now up to 15.  

When I return from Rome later this month, I will go back to my weekly yoga class at the gym, and try to ensure I also swim and use the gym equipment every week. I also hope to increase my walking in natural environments. A retired GP friend recently told me the first six weeks are the worst, but it takes about three months to fully feel the benefit of this operation. The doctor I saw yesterday said I might always experience some pain. Hopefully, by my birthday in June, I will feel it has all been worth it.

2 thoughts on “Past the six-week mark

  1. Good work Bonnie ! Hard recovering from an op like that …you have to have so much determination and just keep doing it … I think after a month of doing something really positive it then get a bit easier to keep on with that positive habit ..
    Really hope it will be all worth it come the summer – so keep us posted !

    lots of love and masses of positivity and determination

    Sophia xxx

Leave a comment