Shameless self-Promotion

A KIND OF FAMILY RELEASE DATE: JUNE 18TH 2024

Love…Loss…Hope…

Following the death of her parents, Rachel leans on her brother as her only living relative. Until a message arrives telling her he’s focusing on his family, and she needs to find her own. In her forties, Rachel thinks she’s lost her chance at love and the close-knit family she longs for.

Community artist Fran embraces life in a way Rachel’s never experienced before. Outgoing Fran is conservative Rachel’s complete opposite, but the attraction she feels for Fran both excites and disturbs her.

As Rachel’s feelings for Fran deepen, Aggie, who looks and sounds as if she’s from 1960s working-class London, enters her life. She takes a special interest in Rachel’s relationship with Fran. Who is she and why does she care so much about their relationship?

When tragedy strikes, it’s Aggie who helps Rachel find a way forward.

A Kind of Family challenges traditional ideas of what constitutes family.

It explores the raw emotions of grief and finds hope in the connections that help us heal.

Pre-order here: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Kind-Family-Bonnie-Meekums-ebook/dp/B0CZHZKY1Q/ref=sr_1_1?crid=2AKV8FLQ55PF2&dib=eyJ2IjoiMSJ9.VOi2sR9_uQdV6REQS31rwg.LKss8VliELS1v9Swms3JmChjYCss4AJDxkjb3dbLQco&dib_tag=se&keywords=bonnie+meekums+a+kind+of+family&qid=1712590999&sprefix=%2Caps%2C394&sr=8-1

So, now I’ve got that out of my system… phew! I just have a newsletter to write for those people who have signed up for that, and I think I am done for a bit.

This is my debut novel. It took years to write. In fact, it began as a series of short stories I wove together, filling in the gaps to make a much bigger story. I penned the very first story in 2011 and sent the final manuscript to my publisher towards the end of 2018. They accepted it early in 2019 and published it – wait for it – in early 2020, just as the world imploded in the wake of the worst viral plague I have seen in my lifetime.

My publisher assessed the situation and decided to re-launch with a new (more appropriate) cover and a re-edit. The story remains the same, but it now reads much better. I am thrilled to be involved in bringing this story to more people.

So, if you would like to read ‘graceful yet heart-breaking tale of love and loss… written so naturally that I honestly felt that I could feel the love between all the characters,’ (Kimberley, book blogger) ‘an exquisite study of relationships and what constitutes family – an overcoming adversity,’ (Jacqueline Ward, best-selling author), just follow the link above. Oh, and there is a bit of hill-walking in there. Well, it wouldn’t be one of my books without some nod to nature, really, would it? Rambling on, as ever.

3 thoughts on “Shameless self-Promotion

Leave a comment